Today’s Word With Joel and Victoria Osteen – Shake It Off

Today’s Scripture

“If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, leave that home or town and shake the dust off your feet.”

Matthew 10:14, NIV

Today’s Word

When Jesus sent His disciples out to various towns to teach the people and heal the sick, He knew some people would reject them and their message and talk negatively about them. He didn’t say they might be treated poorly, but that they would be. When that happened, Jesus told His disciples to simply “shake the dust off your feet” rather than become defensive and worried. That was a symbolic way of saying, “You may reject me and speak badly about me, but you’re not going to steal my joy. I’m not going to sink down to your level. God is my vindicator.

”When people are being critical, judgmental, talking behind your back, you simply have to shake it off. Don’t let negative words and others’ opinions steal your joy. Stay on the high road and let God fight those battles for you. You never win by sinking down to a critic’s level and attacking them personally. Rise above that and move forward. Do what God has put in your heart and trust Him to take care of the critics.

Prayer For Today

“Father, thank You that You are the Most High God, and You fight my battles for me. Thank You that You are my great defender when I come under personal criticism and attack. Help me to shake off negative words and rejection and just run my own race. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.” 

Leave a comment