Today’s Word With Joel and Victoria Osteen – You Have What You Need

Today’s Scripture

1 Samuel 17:40, NLT

He picked up five smooth stones from a stream and put them into his shepherd’s bag. Then, armed only with his shepherd’s staff and sling, he started across the valley to fight the Philistine.

Today’s Word

The giant Goliath was standing before David in a full set of armor. All David had was a sling and a few stones. He could have been intimidated and afraid. “Maybe this isn’t a good idea.” But he knew that sling with the favor of God was more powerful than having the best equipment. It’s not so much what you have; it’s what you think about what you have. If you’re thinking, “If I just had more talent, more training, more experience, more education, more personality,” you’re going to miss the greatness God put in you and limit your life. You don’t need great talent to do something great or to have great resources to leave your mark. You don’t have to come from an influential family to make a big difference.

Here’s the key: You have exactly what you need to fulfill your destiny. Don’t discount what you have. If you needed more, God would have given you more. Don’t underestimate who you are. God will take what seems like not enough and breathe on it. It will become more than enough.

Prayer for Today

“Father, thank You that You have provided me with the gifts and the talents I need. Thank You that I don’t have to have what I think is a big gift for You to use me in a great way. I will be faithful to develop what You’ve given me and trust You to give me more as I increase it. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a comment